Old friends

An old friend from my Monterey House waitress days just contacted me on messenger tonight. The years ’75 to ’85, my Dallas days. She remembered mom, my sister and my aunt Flo who also worked there with us. I loved Dallas. I only left because it was no place to raise kids, or at least it was no place for ME to raise my kids. I was so wild back then. All I wanted to do was party and Dallas is the place for that, ( at least it was back then). But when your sister walks up on your six year old son sitting in a tree with a rope around his neck about to jump, It’s an eye-opener. I put my two week notice in at work, called dad to come get the boys, no matter what I had to live with once I got back to florida, nothing mattered but my baby then. It was time to be a mother. But it was wonderful taking about the young years and of all the people..lol.. I kissed her husband before he was her husband when we were 16.. I wasn’t yet working at the restaurant yet but I was there with mom and aunt Flo while they were rolling up silverware and they to me something in spanish and told me to say it to this kid working in the back. I did, not knowing what I was saying and he kissed me. Apparently I told him to give me a kiss, my first spanish words…lol.. It was our first meeting and it never happened again after we began working together. Luisa began working there not long after that and they became an item and got married after a while. She just told me they lasted 23 years. Good for them, I’m glad they made it till the kids were grown. Her mom used to babysit for me when I went out dancing sometimes. It was really good reminiscing on some good days. Oh well. Bed time.

Leave a comment